Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee

Because of courthouse fires and other disasters, some Tennessee records filed at the county level are lost forever.

Records filed at the county level include marriages; wills and other probate records; records of county, circuit and chancery courts; deeds; and tax records. You can consult <u>Earliest County Records at the Tennessee State Library and Archives</u> to see the effect of a courthouse fire or fires on the records of the county in which you are interested.

The following list shows when courthouse fires and other disasters occurred in Tennessee.

COUNTY	YEAR	DISASTER
Bedford	1830	tornado
	1863 & 1934	fires
Bledsoe	1908	fire
Blount	1879 & 1906	fires
Campbell	1883 & 1926	fires
Cannon	1934	fire
Carroll	1931	fire
Carter	1933	fire
Chester	1910	fire
Claiborne	1863 & 1931	fires
Cocke	1876	fire
Coffee	1870	fire
Cumberland	1905	fire
Davidson	1856	fire
Decatur	1869 & 1927	fires
Dickson	1830	tornado
Dyer	1864	fire
Fayette	1925	fire
Fentress	1905	fire
Gibson	1941	fire
Giles	1813, 1857 & 1907	fires
Grainger	1946	fire
Grundy	1853 & 1990	fires
COUNTY	YEAR	DISASTER
Hamilton	1910	fire
Hancock	1885 & 1930	fires

Hardeman	1864	fire
Hardin	1859, 1864 & 1949	fire
Hawkins	1863	fire
Henderson	1896	fire
Hickman	1864	fire
Humphreys	1876 & 1898	fires
Jackson	1872 & 1926	fires
Lauderdale	1869	fire
McMinn	1964	fire
McNairy	1881	fire
Macon	1860 & 1901 & 1932	fires
Marion	1922	fire
Marshall	1872 & 1927	fires
Meigs	1904 & 1964	fire
Monroe	1820s	fire
	1860	razed / Civil War
Montgomery	1878 & 1900	fires
	1999	tornado
Morgan	1826 & 1870 & 1904	fires
Obion	1842	earthquake
Overton	1865	fire
Perry	1863 & 1928	fires
Pickett	1934	fire
Polk	1895 & 1935???	fires
Putnam	1860s	burned / Civil War
	1898	fires
Rhea	1869 & 1927	fires
Rutherford	1832	tornado
Scott	1946	fire
Sevier	1856	fire
Stewart	1862	fire (Federal troops)
Sullivan	1863	fire (Civil War - Battle of Blountville)
Trousdale	1900 & 1904	fires
Union	1870s & 1969	fires

Warren	1852?	fire?
Washington	1839	fire
Wayne	1973	fire
Weakley	1948	fire
Wilson	1881	fire